Skip to main content

Who we are

Council Members & Service Providers

Duties and Responsibilities of the Council and the Officers

Officers and Council members of Nagalro take part in many other social work related activities, aside from their work as Children's Guardians, ISWs, family placement specialists, therapists etc.

Being a Council member may inform or enhance these other roles and vice versa. However, when a member has a personal interest in an activity in which Nagalro has a current role which is not related to their official Nagalro role, it is essential that the Council is informed and that no approaches are made to another organisation which could represent a conflict of interest either for the member or for Nagalro. Such personal interests, which may involve research, consultation or training, should be advised to the Council prior to any outside undertaking.

Nagalro Officers


Carole Littlechild - Chair

Carole Littlechild (CQSW & Dip.Applied Social Studies, and NVQ5 Management) has been in practice as a qualified social worker for 44 years.  Her experience has spanned being a Social Worker in social services and Family Service Unit, Team Manager in social services teams and in Adoption, as well as an Adoption Panel Advisor.  Carole also has years as a Family Mediator, Social Worker Consultant, Trainer, Guardian ad Litem and latterly as a Facilitator for the Truth Project of the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse.  She has been a member of Nagalro since its beginnings.  She represents Council at the CoramBAAF Legal; Advisory Committee and is a member of Nagalro's Training subgroup.  As Acting Chair of Nagalro, Carole is joining the Equal Justice for Migrant Children in their important work for a group of largely overlooked vulnerable children & young people.  Carole is humbled to be taking up the role of Acting Chair for Nagalro at this time. Children have been at the heart of everything in Carole's practice throughout her working life, and she regards the role of Nagalro as never more crucial as now to be championing the needs and rights of so many vulnerable and traumatised children, facing many difficult life changing situations.  There is much work to do, in wide ranging arenas. To be an effective organisation we must support the independent social workers in their painstaking work with the children whose futures come before the family Courts, and we have a dedicated group of Council members and outside Friends to help us do so conscientiously.. I look forward to facilitating our continued effectiveness both within Nagalro and with our colleague friends beyond.


Fiona Wallace - Vice Chair

Fiona Wallace (BA Hons, DIPSW, MA) is an Independent Social Worker, and former employed Children's Guardian, with particular experience in working with adults with mental health, drug and alcohol issues, and adverse childhood experiences.  She has over 30 years direct work experience in mental health provision, statutory child protection, adoption and fostering, and children in care social work. Her first degree was in psychology and philosophy.  Recently she completed a Masters in contemporary fine art and cultural contexts.  Fiona has been involved with Nagalro Council in particular with recent conferences, training, and the Black Children's Lives Matter sub group.  Fiona feels privileged to have the opportunity to take up the role of acting Vice Chair of Nagalro at this important time for the association.  She particularly welcomes open and regular lines of communication with all Council and Nagalro members, in order to continue to improve all aspects of our offer to our members and to the children we serve.


Kathy Butcher - Treasurer


Julia Hughes - Company Secretary


Nagalro Council members:

  • Sam Baeza - University Lecturer and Independent Social Worker

  • Pete Bentley - Independent Social Worker

  • Marvalyn Chambers - Independent Social Worker and Psychodynamic Counsellor

  • Sharon Graham - Independent Social Worker, Independent Reviewing Officer and Trainer

  • Paul Pennington-Wilson - Children's Guardian (NYAS)

  • Yvonne Wilson, Children's Guardian and Independent Social Worker 


Service Providers:

  • Editor of Seen and Heard: Rodney Noon

  • Principal Administrator:  Karen Harris

  • Policy Consultant:  Judith Timms OBE


Editorial Board:

  • Sam Baeza, Nagalro Council member

  • Pete Bentley, Nagalro Policy Officer

  • Karen Harris, Principal Administrator

  • Paul Pennington-Wilson, Nagalro Council member

  • Carole Littlechild, Nagalro Acting Chair

Training Group:

  • Kathy  Butcher, Nagalro Treasurer

  • Karen Harris, Principal Administrator

  • Carole Littlechild, Nagalro Chair

  • Fiona Wallace, Nagalro  Vice Chair 


BCLM Group:

  • Julia Hughes, Nagalro Company Secretary

  • Fiona  Wallace, Nagalro Acting Vice Chair

  • Yvonne Wilson, Nagalro Council member


Carole Littlechild gives evidence to House of Lords Justice and Home Affairs Committee